Very Small Reynolds Number

Im currently trying to model a porous printing substrate (paper :)) and am haveing some issues with OpenLB. Im very new to OpenLB and LB in general, and as such have been learning from examples and papers.

I am trying to analyse a domain of 500?m x 500?m containing cylindrical obstacles of radius 12.5?m, due to these parameters the Reynolds number associated with the system (I am useing the packed beds formula for porous media, see Ergun Equation) tends to be less than 1. Using such a reynolds number produces simulations that look and behave in a strange way, where after a certain number of iterations, the values for energy and density begin to oscillate, then increase exponentially. Increasing the reynolds number to about 2-3, leaving the rest of the parameters the same, will produce results and behaviours for the system that I would expect to see. Also decreasing the lattice speed/time step allows the simulation to run for more iterations.

Attempts i have made to at least get reasonable results for more simple cases have included, varying the number of particulates, varying particulate size, playing with different collision steps. However my problem still remains, the only systems i can model with openLB as it stands are those that give a reynolds number of greater then 2-3.

A final point, i have increased the resolution of the lattice, which also allows the simulation to run for more iterations, however exactly the same type of behaviour is observed. Also increasing the resolution above 500 will produce a segmentation fault for me, with N= 501 giving the seg fault, and N=499 being able to run.

Any ideas? been struggling with this for some time…

Hello,

what is the value of your LB relaxation time? And which boundary conditions do you use (obstacles, inlet, outlet)? What is a typical packing fraction of your system (volume of obstacles versus total volume)? What is the mean width of the small channels between two obstacles?