[SOLVED] Very basic question: How to handle multiple output ASCII files?

Hello,

I just got started with Palabos and with C++ in general. Prior to this, I only had experience with C, so the jump from a structured programming language to a fully object-oriented one is quite large. I believe my difficulty resides more on the side of programming than Palabos itself, but I think this community is the best place to find the answers I need.

Before I started trying to fiddle with the examples to solve some problems I want to solve, I studied the Tutorial available on the wiki. But what I want to do is not covered on any example.

I started toying with /examples/showCaes/poiseuille/poiseuille.cpp, because this will be the skeleton to the problem I want to model. The code as-is saves only images snapshots with the velocity norm, but I want to write ASCII files as well with the y coordinate of the duct on the first column and the velocity norm on the second column. By following the example useIOstream.cpp, I found that I had to create a Box2D object to extract these informations from the slice I want, so I replicated this on my code. This works, but I have two problems. I’ll first pose the problems and then detail what I tried to do:

1. I want my output files to be called something like “profiles_t???.dat”, where ??? is the time step. I want these ASCII files to follow the naming convention of the .gif image files, which are named “u???.gif”;
  2. I’m not that familiar with C++ I/O, so how do I write the output file in the way I want? On C (pseudocode) this would be something like fprintf(output, “%f %f\n”, y, velocityNorm);

For #1, I tried many things, among them writing a string and parsing this string to the object plb_ofstream as

[code=“cpp”]
ostringstream oss;
oss << “profiles_t” << iT*parameters.getDeltaT() << “.dat”;
fileName = oss.str();
//pcout << filename << endl; Debug

plb_ofstream successiveProfiles(filename);