Pressure gradients with periodic boundary conditions

Dear all,

I’m a physics PhD student, working on a problem that requires a flow field as input, and so far our idea is to get this flow field by simulating it using LBM. To get acquainted with the method, I equipped myself with the C sample code from the website (Big Thank You, Jonas), the Shen/Doolen review, Jonas’ thesis (I really don’t get the regularized part yet :D) and ’ book… and while I understand a lot more than before now, there are still a quite a few places where I’m either not sure if I got the information right or still totally clueless. So, I thought I just write down what my problem is and what I tried to understand it so far, and if anyone has the time to give me some pointers it’ll be most appreciated.