Permeability example customization

Greetings,

I am new to Palabos and am already a big fan. A big thank you and kudos to the development team!

I am trying to feed in my own voxelized geometry of random packed spheres into the examples/tutorials/permeability tutorial. I have a periodic sphere pack in a cube-shaped domain which I have voxelized into an (NX,NY,NZ) = (100,100,100) voxel pack. For better or worse, I produced my voxel inputs by treating the X and Y directions as periodic, and Z as non-periodic (the pack itself is periodic in all directions); setting sphere surfaces to be value = 1, interior sphere voxels = 2, and otherwise 0. This all checks out OK. Then I write the voxel pack to file by writing NZ planes, each with NY rows of NX values. This written file is the one I use for input into the permeability tutorial example code.

I suspect that there is a mismatch between the orientation of my geometry on disk vs. how it gets read in, but if anyone can provide any insight on the following questions, it would be deeply appreciated.

1. New (seemingly extraneous) geometry I/O code? - Starting in version 1.4, a new section of code in the I/O section attempts to read a bunch of slices into the geometry:

[code=“cpp”]
///////

MultiScalarField3D<int> geometry(nx,ny,nz);
    MultiScalarField3D<int> slice(1,ny,nz);
    for (iX=0; iX<nx-1; ++iX) {
        string fname = createFileName("slice_", iX, 4)+"_truc.dat";
        pcout << "Reading slice " << fname;
        plb_ifstream geometryFile(fNameIn.c_str());
        if (!geometryFile.is_open()) {
     	    pcout << "Error: could not open geometry file " << fNameIn << endl;
                return -1;
        }
        geometryFile >> slice;
        copy(slice, slice.getBoundingBox(), geometry, Box3D(iX,iX,0,ny-1,0,nz-1));
    }

////////