Example of Units...

Hello Everyone,

I have documented a small example of converting from physical units to lattice units. Please find the file at this link

I am missing the Non-Dimensional part here.

Experts please correct me if I am doing something wrong…

Thanks in advance,
Narender Koosukuntla.

You convert units while keeping the Reynolds number the same, which is ok, I think. But I wonder if you are really free in choosing the relaxation time tau. Maybe for incompressible flow you are, but I think that for compressible flow you would first have to set the time step delta_t = delta_x * cs/Cs with cs and Cs being respectively the lattice and physical speed of sound. Then calculate the lattice viscosity and from that the relaxation time.
I’m not an expert, but I think it should be like this.

Elrohir

You are a lifesaver, nkoosukuntla.
This forum was really missing a post like this.

Thanks a lot

Hello everyone,
based on nkoosukuntla’s file, I write a simple octave/matlab script http://dl.dropbox.com/u/7159543/conversion_units_lu_ph.m .
I hope it can be useful!

Greetings

Hi All,

Can anybody please post a similar conversion for pressure and density?

Thanks,
Narender

Yeh some one kindly doo it for pressure ad density…

Hi Narender,

YOur link is dead and I have lost my copy of it. Would it be possible for you to upload it again? I really need to re-consult with it. Many thanks!

Hi,

No problem. I will search in my documents and upload it.

Thanks,
Narender

Hi all,
I am also confused about unit conversions. But I have come up with conversions for pressure and in turn for density (reference http://wiki.palabos.org/_media/howtos:lbunits.pdf)…
delta_x = 1/ N where N is lattice resolution
delta_t ~ (delta_x)^2 OR we can back calculate it by assumming some value for ‘tau’ (relaxation time always >0.5)
from problem statement we can calculate ‘Re’
p -> physical , d -> dimensionless, lb -> lattice units
Now ,