epsilon expansion of derivatives

Dear all

I’m a Lattice Boltzmann newbie. And when I try to derive the Navier-Stokes equations I get a bit lost in the algebra.

As I understand, we generally assume that the macroscopic velocity, u, is small (order epsilon). We assume that we can expand the particle distribution function in the same small parameter, epsilon, around the equilibrium particle distribution. We also expand the derivatives in epsilon. And we expand the time derivative up to epsilon^2 and the spacial derivative to epsilon. Right?

What I do not understand is why we don’t also expand the spacial derivative to second order? This seems arbitrary to me. Is there a physical reason for not doing so?

Thanks

jon

Hello,

the reason not to decompose the gradient is that all relevant physics (advection, diffusion) happens on the same length scale. This is not the case for the time scales, though.

Timm

Thanks for answer Timm. But I still do not understand.

I agree that diffusion and advection happens at two different time scales. But I thought that the scheme of lattice boltzmann was to make a ‘lattice game’ which reproduces the dynamics of a real system. How do we know that the second order of the spacial derivative won’t affect the other terms to the same order? Or am I missing something fundamental?

j

Indeed, I am also looking for a more convincing explanation. Waiting for someone to post it…

Hello,

actually the Chapman-Enskog does not need to be made on two different time scales. In order to recover the Navier-Stokes equations the separation of the time scales in two parts in not needed (see in the book by Huang for example or in my thesis). Since from the mathematical point of view this expansion is not really well posed, it is not really important that many paths can lead you to the same result.