Density loss when adding force term

Hi to all,

I am a beginner to LBM, trying to set up a simulation of a Poiseuille flow using a D2Q9 lattice and periodic boundary conditions at the in/outlet. The problem is now the following: Whenever I add any kind of force term, be it an external body force or a pressure gradient, my local density starts to decay to 0 exponentially with time. Has anyone yet experienced such (mis-)behaviour and maybe knows a way around it?

thanks in advance for any help,
Philippe

Dear Philippe,

obviously, there is something strange happening. A few months ago I added a new forcing term, and the mass was increasing. However, there was a flaw in my class definitions, and I could correct it. The mass is conserved, if the sum of the forcing terms is zero, i.e. \sum_i F_i = 0, where i = 0, …, 8 for D2Q9 and F_i is the term you add to the right-hand-side of the lattice Boltzmann equation. For this reason, I assume that there is a mistake in the definition of your forcing term, or even in the lattice Boltzmann equation.
What kind of boundary conditions do you use? Is it possible that you have a leak, because the walls do not cover all of your fluid boundary?

Best,
Timm

Dear Timm,

thanks for your reply! I checked my forcing terms, and they sum up to 0 nicely, so that can not be the cause. Also, I am using very simple boundary conditions. The wall just reflects the populations like f_{6,7,8}(i=0) = f_{2,3,4}(i=1) and similar for the lower wall, and the periodicity is handled like f_{1,2,8}(beginning) = f_{1,2,8}(end) and vice versa - might I eventually lose some population there? How would you handle simple periodic boundaries here?

Regards,
Philippe

Hi,