Applying bounceback BC

Hey, I’m fairly new to using the LB method and have been trying to implement full bounce back boundary conditions on a 2D box with no velocity sources. Basically just to see if the non slip boundary conditions are working.

Heres how i’ve implemented it:

Initialise u = 0, rho = 1 using equilibrium distribution function (D2Q9) for all nodes.

Collision step -
Bulk Nodes: Standard BGK collision
Boundary Nodes: Fi(x,t) = Fopp(i)(x,t) for i = 0:8

Streaming step-
Normal stream for bulk and boundary nodes

Calculate u and rho, then return to collision step for next iteration.

I can’t see anything wrong with my implementation but for all of the boundary nodes I’m calculating a velocity of 0.02 directed towards the centre of the domain. All of the bulk nodes have a velocity of 0.

Does anyone have any ideas why this might be?
Cheers.

Hello,
the first I’m not sur that is correct is that on the boundaries you should NOT apply the BGK collision if you are using the bounceback boundary condition.
The second thing is that since you are not applying the collision, the Chapman -Enskog expansion is not valid anymore and therefore the density/velocity you could want to compute on the boundary has not physical meaning. And therefore should not be computed… :slight_smile:

Good luck.

Orestis

Using bounceback boundary conditions (obstacles half-way between fluid and boundary nodes) one does not need to apply collision at the wall nodes, but propagation has to be applied at least to the outer wall nodes.
On the other hand, if your obstacles are explicitely included in the computations, i.e. if you have “wet boundaries”, you have to apply both collision and propagation at wall surface nodes.

Nf2 ----------Nf------------Nf3

Nb2______Nb_______Nb3
//////////////////////////////////////////

Nw2---------Nw-----------Nw3

6--------------2--------------5

3--------------0--------------1

7--------------4--------------8