Wrong velocity profile in poiseuille 2D

Hi guys i’m quite new to Lattice Boltzmann simuations and theory, i succesfully simulated a 2D lid driven cavity flow using Zou and He boundary conditions for both moving and stationary walls, i validated the results with results at same Reynolds number obtained with Finite element method.

I decided to turn my attention to poiseuille flow, i’m using a lattice with 128 points both in x and y directions.

i’m imposing a parabolic profile at the inlet (left)and at the outlet (right) boundaries (using zou he moving wall with parabolic ux velocity and uy=0), while on north and south boundaries i use zou and he no slip boundary conditions (ux=0 and uy=0).

what happens is that i have obviously the correct velocity profile at the inlet, and at the outlet, BUT in the middle of the channel the maximum velocity increase from the u0=0.001 imposed to about 0.0017.

the question is: am i doing something wrong with the boundaries conditions? maybe i should impose a density (therefore pressure) difference from inlet/outlet?

i’m really clueless.

thanks

Hi,
My suggestion is instead of using Zou & He velocity boundary conditions… Just use half way bounce back boundary condition at the top and bottom wall. i.e no collision on walls.

By introducing a poisuelle’s force in the fluid nodes you can give periodic boundary condition for inlet and outlet.

You can find a simple Poisuelle’s flow FORTRAN program in the following webpage “http://complex.elte.hu/~csabai/szamszim/lecture7/lbe.f.txt

I hope it will help.
Good luck

Thank you, i knew it was possibile to add a force term to the equations while using periodic boundaries, as written in sauro succi’s book. And i’ll try Also tris way.

But i’m still wondering why with the boundary conditions that i used i’m not getting the correct profile.

Edit: the link is not working, at least from ipad.