Thermal LBM vs. FD Method

Dear all,

I’m new to the topic LBM. I’ve already successfully implemented a LBM method here in our group, and it’s working quite well. Presently we’ve coupled it with a finite difference thermal model which already exists. Since there is the possibility to use a thermal LBM also, I was asking myself, what will be the difference. Ok, the methods have a completely different point of view, but in the end, what will be the advantages of one or the other? Please, could someone with some more experience give me some hints on this topic?

Regards, Francois

Hi Francois,

I think that is very good question. I don’t know much about thermal LBE but I think there are arguably two approaches, but perhaps only one of them is practical. (As always I may well be wrong so I hope others can correct me.)

One method is to use an MRT-type scheme with an extended velocity set to get the correct energy equation (D2Q9 is not sufficient). I think this becomes quite difficult, if at all possible, and it is unclear if there are any benefits.

The other way is to couple an LBE for the fluid flow with another LBE for the advection/diffususin of the temperature field. This is certainly a lot easier than the above as LBEs for passive scalars are nice and simple.

One thing to be aware of is if you use an LBE for the temperature field, a full Chapman-Enskog expansion will reveal error terms which I think are order Ma^2, but I’m not sure (It may be that they are Ma^3 when the velocity is constant and Ma^2 otherwise, I can’t remember). This can be implemented with a 4-velocity square lattice (which is cheaper), but I think the D2Q9 will have a positive effect on the error terms.