Question about corner boundaries

Hi, all

I am new to openLB code, I have questions about the example of cylinder.cpp .

I try to understand the code by stusying the example of cylinder.cpp (old version of olb-0.5r1 ) I tried both LocalBoundaryCondition2D or ZouHeBoundary2D, and I noticed that :

(1)  sometimes the  distribution function  is negative,  is it normal or something is wrong ? 

(2)  For the four corner boundaries (Fixed Velocity are used),  I did not know how the collide steps are  treated, it seems that just normal RLBdynamics or BGKdynamics collide steps are called. But how about the five  unknown distribution functions are determined ?  

Any help is appreciated !

ycwang

Hi,

OpenLB and Palabos don’t directly store the distribution function f_i. Instead, they store the value f_i-t_i, where t_i is the weight of a given direction. The reason for this is explained here: http://lbmethod.org/howtos:reduce_roundoff

To understand how the regularized (“LocalBoundaryCondition”) or Zou/He (“ZouHeBoundaryCondition”) work, I suggest you have a look at the following paper: http://lbmethod.org/literature:latt_08

Thanks, Jonas,

Actuallt I 've downloaded many of your thesis, papers and reports.  You 've done a great job, it is a great pity that I could go to your openlbm training. 

I 've read your paper about boundary conditions , is your version of ZouHeBoundaryCondition different from the ZouHe’s original paper ? I still do not know how you deal with the cornal node, especially for the 5 unknown distributions. Could you explain this to me ?

By the way , I am trying to couple LBM to my Discrete Element Model (DEM). Since my DEM is a paralleled (MPI) code, I am reading your parallel part now. My question are :

(1)   Are there  some fundimental differences in the paralled code   between oib-0.5r1 and palabos0.6r1 version ?     I started from the old version  and can not followed you quickly, I found palaos is more complicated  to me.