output velocity units

HI,
i am pretty new to LBM and palabos, i started with basic cylinder 2d example. i am not sure where to find out my output velocity from. my basic assumption is that the velocity can be found in Paraview, but than after getting velocity output, I am not sure if the velocity i got is in lattice units or non dimensional system, since all the parameters used in the code are in non dimensional system. the palabos data file in tmp folder gives me the same velocity i input, which i think is the charecteristic velocity. i would be really glad if some one can clarify me if my output velocity from paraview is in lattice units or non dimensional system.

thanks in advance.
help would be seriously appreciated.

Dear Chaitanya,

the code converts to lattice units and sets up the simulation in lattice units. The whole ouput in the vtk file however is in dimensionless units. You can check this by adding the following lines after your simulation loop:

[code=“cpp”]
MultiTensorField2D<T,2> velocity (parameters.getNx(),parameters.getNy()) ;
MultiScalarField2D velocityNorm (parameters.getNx(),parameters.getNy()) ;

computeVelocity(lattice,velocity,lattice.getBoundingBox()) ;
computeNorm(velocity,velocityNorm,lattice.getBoundingBox()) ;

plint someX = 450 ;
plint someY = 50 ;

pcout << "This is the velocity in lattice units at " << someX << " " << someY << ": " << velocityNorm.get(someX,someY) << endl ;
pcout << "This is the non-domensional velocity at " << someX << " " << someY << ": " << velocityNorm.get(someX,someY)*parameters.getDeltaX()/parameters.getDeltaT() << endl ;

You can then probe your vtk output at x=4.5, y=0.5 (non-dimensional lengths!) and compare the velocities, which will result in the dimensionless velocity.

(This assumes that you have not changed anything concerning the geometry of the example)

Regards,

kk

Hi kk,