moving wall

Hello,

I’m quite new to lattice boltzmann and have some trouble to implement the He/Zou boundary condition for a moving wall. In my case there are two parallel walls of which one has a velocity in x-direction. Now I have somehow managed to implement He/Zou and the results are qualitativly right but 3 times too high. Following is the Fortran-Code for Zou/He, which I implemented between propagation and collision-step:

do x=1,nx
do z=1,nz
density_temp = ftemp(0,x,z) + ftemp(1,x,z) + ftemp(3,x,z) + 2.d0 *(ftemp(4,x,z) + ftemp(7,x,z) + ftemp(8,x,z))
f(2,x,z) = ftemp(4,x,z)
f(5,x,z) = ftemp(7,x,z) - 1.d0/2.d0 * (ftemp(1,x,z) - ftemp(3,x,z)) + 1.d0/2.d0 * u_wu_x * density_temp
f(6,x,z) = ftemp(8,x,z) + 1.d0/2.d0 * (ftemp(1,x,z) - ftemp(3,x,z)) - 1.d0/2.d0 * u_wu_x * density_temp
end do
end do

This code is just applied to the lower wall. I also have to mention, that the collision step is just applied to the fluid and not to the wall. I already tried to change that, but the results were worse.

I’m stuck now and appreciate every hint or help.
Thanks in advance.

Hello,

I checked your calculations and I think they are fine. Are you sure there is nothing wrong in other parts of your code? On the other hand, I I would also suggest to take a look at Succi’s version of the sliding wall BC (Succi, “The Lattice Boltzmann Equation for fluid dynamics and beyound”, page 87-88). Another one is the regularized velocity BC of Jonas (“Straight velocity boundaries in the lattice Boltzmann method”).

Most of these BCs are usually applied in the literature for the case when the imposed velocity is perpendicular to the wall. However, lid-driven cavity simulations exist which report reasonable results even with more “brute-force” approaches, so Zou/He should really work. At which quantities are you looking?

Hope it helps,
Dragos

Hello,
in the Zou-He boundary condition you HAVE TO do the collision after the boundary condition which is on the wall.