Momentum Exchange Algortithm

Hey,

I am kind of new to LBM. Currently I am working on a code for single disc particle sedimentation in a stationary fluid.

Gravity to the left. Right end is constant pressure boundary condition. Left, top bottom is wall.

g=0.001 in lattice units

The body force value need not be added to the fluid in the domain, right? Only the particle acceleration is update by this g.

I am using the momentum exchange algorithm by Ladd to simulate it. However, the velocity of the particle just keeps fluctuating between 0.0019 to 0.0023.(lattice units)

These values aren’t equal to the terminal velocity I determined by using Cd(Drag Coeffecient) given by Sucker and Brauer (1975).

I am stuck with this for a month now. I have searched but not been able to find a way. Please help.

Just for clarification the following is how I get the force:

if(isSolid(node[j][i-1],centroid))
{
xb=(node[j][i].x + c[3][0]/2.) - centroid.x;
yb=(node[j][i].y + c[3][1]/2.) - centroid.y;
ub=centroid.u - (wyb);
vb=centroid.v + (w
xb);

fx=2*(node[j][i].f[3] - (6.*wt[3]*node[j][i].rho)*(c[3][0]*ub + c[3][1]*vb) - node[j][i-1].f[1])*c[3][0];
                    fy=2*(node[j][i].f[3] - (6.*wt[3]*node[j][i].rho)*(c[3][0]*ub + c[3][1]*vb) - node[j][i-1].f[1])*c[3][1];

Fx+=fx;
                    Fy+=fy;
                    T+=( (fy*xb) - (fx*yb) );

node[j][i].f[1]=node[j][i].f[3] - (6.*wt[3]*node[j][i].rho)*(c[3][0]*ub + c[3][1]*vb);
                    node[j][i-1].f[3]=node[j][i-1].f[1] + (6.*wt[3]*node[j][i].rho)*(c[3][0]*ub + c[3][1]*vb);

}

Similar code is for all the other neighbouring nodes of a particular fluid boundary node

The velocity update for the disc is done in the following snippet:

void updatingSolid(props &centroid,int solid_count,long double Fx,long double Fy,long double T,long double &w,long double del)
{
long double k,M,I;

k=sqrt( 0.5*pow(a,2) );

M=(solid_rho)*PI*pow((a),2);
 I=M*pow(k,2);

//Displacing
 centroid.x+=( centroid.u + 0.5*(Fx/M - g) );