Mass Conservation: LBM vs. FVM

Hello everyone!

I am new to CFD, LBM and Palabos and in the last few weeks i performed some LBM-3D-Simulations with Palabos. I have some basic questions conserning the mass conservation (and other conserved quatities) in LBM.

My simulations are very simple so far: i have a velocity inlet condition and a pressure/pressure-outlet condition at the outlet. In the simulation domain there are a few obstacles that lead to a non homogenious velocity profile at the outlet. This means that backflow occurs and so far it crashes my whole simulation. It is not possible for me to place the outlet far away from the obstacles because of memory limatation and computing time (grid-refinement in 3D is not yet ready in Palabos 1.5v1 as faras i know).

I read in a lot of papers that LBM does conserve mass and momentum, but how is it possible then that the velocity of the backflow at the outlet becomes much larger than the velocity at any other point of my simulations? In FVM this does not occur, as far as i know because it is a conservative method and the backflow can not simply circumvent the mass conservation.

Could you please explain the difference in mass conservation in FVM and LBM to me? Well, one possible solution for my problem would be to integrate over the whole Boundary and make sure the mass is conserved. Unfortunately this would break the parallelization (as far as i know), and is hence not implemented in Palabos?

I also tried to apply a velocity boundary condition at the outlet, but then the average density is decreasing during the simulation. I think this is because there is no reference density/pressure at any point in the domain then. Since the pressure is part of the solution an will decrease in the direction of flow, lets say in a pipe, the momentum in LBM is also not conserved because of the following: