curved boundaries

hi,
I’m an absolute beginner in lbm, and any patience shown towards my almost definitely trivial question would be really appreciated.
Is it possible to impose a velocity boundary condition for CURVED boundaries in 3D?Say, if you wanted to simulate 3D cylindrical pipe flow, with the no slip BC.
HELP NEEDED!!!
(I’ve looked at the research papers mentioned on lbmethod.org, but they only refer to straight walled boundaries…)

thanks in advance
shubh

Hello,

have a look at this article. There are also other works related to that problem.

Timm

If you’re an absolute beginner I’d recommend starting with simulating 2d flow with velocity boundary conditions first. Having gained sufficient understanding from working with this you should be able to extend the boundary conditions to 3d, even curved boundaries.

Usually exploring the third dimension is quite trivial, allthough computationally intensive, once there is full understanding of the two dimensional case.

hey
thanks a lot for the suggestions
@timm
the research paper you refer to isn’t available at my institute, you mentioned other works, would you be so kind as to post a few names?

@ponja
even an article detailing velocity impositions for 2d flow would be greatly helpful…( for curved boundaries the von neumann approach as far as i can tell isn’t implementable, Ref [1])

[1]
Straight velocity boundaries in the lattice Boltzmann method
Jonas Lat and Bastien Chopard
University of Geneva,
Geneva, Switzerland
Orestis Malaspinas, Michel Deville, and Andreas Michler‡
Ecole Polytechnique F´ed´erale de Lausanne,
Lausanne, Switzerland
(Dated: April 8, 2008)

I have to have a look at my literature in the institute, but I will not return before Friday.
Tell you more then.

This one seems quite conclusive and should be available if you’re at any university.

http://portal.acm.org/citation.cfm?id=1365351

Note I just googled “lattice boltzmann curved boundaries” :stuck_out_tongue: