AverageEnergy NaN with IncBGKdynamics

Hello,

I’m new to LBM and Palabos. When I changed parameters in showcases “MovingWall”, I found out that if

1. the moving speed of the wall increases, or 2. the viscosity in lattice units “nuLB” is large (nuLB=nu*dt/dx^2), the computed average energy will also be too large so that it outputs no values any more but “NaN”. The velocities tensor field gets no values either.

However when simulation nanoscale flows, the small lattice distance “dx”, which means high “nuLB” value, is unavoiadable. Unless to reduce “dt” to an incrediable small value, which makes the simulation too expensive.

My questions are:

1. What can be a deeper reason for the failed computation of velocities? The Reynold number remains the same with smaller “dx”.
  2. How to solve this issue?

Really appreciate it a lot.

Qiya

Hello,Qiya
How much is Re that you choose?
Lin

Hello Lin,

Re is kept smaller than 0.1 as I simulate it with only a nanoscale domain.
I knew that large Re can lead to approxiation errors. But this seems not the case here.

Best,
Qiya

Hello Qiya,

Re is kept smaller than 0.1 .I think it is never mind. Could you tell me other parameters?

Best,
Lin

Hi Lin,
sure. Parameters I used are listed below:
param.lx = 2e-7;
param.ly = 2e-7;
param.lz = 2e-7;
param.xSide = 3e-8;
param.resolution = 25;
param.dt = 0.00008;
param.maxIter = 500000;
param.statIter = 20;
param.outIter = 150;
param.startIter = 250;
param.nu = 1e-16;
param.kappa = 0.143e-6;//m2/s
param.mountPoint[0] = 1e-7;
param.mountPoint[1] = 1e-7;
param.mountPoint[2] = 1e-7;
param.ibIter = 4;
param.periodicBoundaries = true;
param.ampl = 2e-8;//50;
param.freq = 1;

This set of parameters can be computed.
But as long as I increased param.nu to 1e-6, for example, the velocity result can’t be computed Right anymore and the energy result turned out to be NaN.