2-Way Dynamics on Rigid Bodies?

Hello all,

I am new to Palabos, and wanted to quickly ask about a specific capability before diving in.

There are a number of two-phase demonstrations of Palabos modelling geometries that act on a fluid (e.g.: a submerged pump acting on a fluid https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KLOtJqvJkaE).

My question is:
Is there an existing capability to have the fluid act back against the geometry? For example, modelling a rigid ball/bouy/ship bobbing on a fluid surface? Is the reaction of the fluid against the pump already being modelled (in the sense that it affects the rotation of the pump, not just the motion of the fluid).

I’ve not managed to find any such examples so far, apologies if I’ve just not searched properly.

Thanks in advance for your time.

Hello Unk,

I attended the latest Palabos training session last month and asked this very question there. The answer was that this is currently not implemented; a separate solver would need to be programmed for the rigid object, and such a solver does not exist at this time. What you see in the examples is just rigid bodies moving unaffected according to the preset parameters, but they do have an effect on the surrounding fluid through the immersed boundary conditions.

If you do have both the interest and the time to program such a solver, then please let me know. :slight_smile:

Thanks for the info AriH, I was afraid that may be the case.

Going forward my options are either look into another technique (perhaps Smooth Particle Hydrodynamics) or, like you said, write a solver around Palabos for the rigid body. If I go for the latter option I’ll be sure to let you know here. Out of interest, are you attempting the same solution?

Edit: Also, was there any mention at the course of this feature being a planned future development? Seems like a logical next step forwards to me.